Poets logo

Sorry

a poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
12

"I'm sorry. I'm sorry. I'm sorry!" You say.

As if saying those words makes it all go away.

It's my fault. I did this. I provoked you. It's true

I'm tired. Exhausted. I don't know what to do.

I've forgiven. I've moved on. I've dropped it. Let go.

You won't do it again. We'll move past this, I know.

For awhile, it's amazing. I build you up all around.

but it won't last for long. You'll burn it all to the ground.

Tell me I'm fragile. I'm delicate. I need your protection.

Shower me with gifts, flowers, and words of affection.

When we are outside, you put on a good show.

But what happens inside, you want no one to know.

Do you even feel shame when you push me around?

Feels like I'm screaming inside but not making a sound.

But you're sorry. Remember? It won't happen again

Don't leave. Don't give up. This will not be the end.

I can't speak. Can't have friends. How dare I wear that dress?!

Can't keep a journal. Can't make calls... but there's no need to stress.

Shut up. Look happy. Walk right. Don't dare fall.

Tell the world I'm your everything while you make me feel small.

Working on all your muscles, it's for me! Don't I know?

Never allowed to say what you use them for though.

But you don't really hit me. You just push me. It's fine.

'Cause my body is yours, right? It's never been mine.

Fighting back, speaking up, it just makes it all worse.

Is this love? Is this right? It feels more like a curse.

My eyes feel so heavy. I can never get sleep.

I toss and I turn. I know I'm in too deep.

What did I say? Who did I tell? Why can't I keep my mouth shut?!

It's nobody's business! We've just hit a rut.

They don't love me like you do. They don't care about me.

You're the only support I have, why can't I see?

I mustn't tell anyone. Wouldn't dare even mention

They only want one thing, my time and attention.

"You can't leave! I will bury you if you even try!"

"Test me! Give it a go, if you think that's a lie!"

"I did nothing wrong! It was your fault, not me!"

"You provoked me! You pushed! Should've just let it be!"

You can yell. Slam the doors. You can leave when you want.

Say whatever you like. Push me. Smile and taunt.

You can choke me. Raise fists at me. Scream in my face

I just need to let go. Hit rewind. Just... erase.

"Don't you dare bring up the past! That didn't happen today!"

You make me move past it. It's not abuse. It's okay.

Because you're sorry. You didn't mean it. You never do.

Can't tell if this is love or hate that I feel for you.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    DAMN that last line really puts a twist on the rest of the poem, that ambivalence that from the outside, seems so obvious. Ugh, the emotions you present here are so hard to fade away from, they punch the reader in the face, the gut, and leave bruises that only hint at what the speaker has gone through. I feel so heartbroken for them and other situations like this. Masterfully crafted. The rhymes were Seussian, but in a way that works, as they capture the ambivalence and confusion of the last line; of the whole situation, I'm sure. Wow.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Hey, I just want to let you know I've shared this poem in my recent story: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences-pt3

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    WOW! phenomenal writing! I pray that all is well ...

  • Two sides of the same coin. It all depends upon how it gets flipped. No laughing allowed.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow, this is incredibly written. It's filled with so much feeling and gives a really good insight into such a serious situation and issue. If it's from personal experience I'm really sorry, but thank you for sharing and raising awarness.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    If you haven't lived with this, you've certainly written it convincingly. I'm inclined to believe the former and that saddens me. Either way, this is a powerful piece with an important message. Well done, Sara!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Woah!!! That was some powerful stuff, Sara. The “sorry” part reminds me of being a kid and saying in response “sorry didn’t do it, you did!” Turns out, sorry rarely fixes things, it just softens the blow. Great work! Hope all is well.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Oh my word. That was incredibly raw and powerful. You spelled it out so well. That anger, shame, confusion, defeat. This line summed it all up perfectly, 'Tell the world I'm your everything while you make me feel small.'

  • 🥹📝❤️-I Am Only Human

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Sorry Sara. If this is autobiographical...which I have a feeling it is. I am sorry you experienced that. This, was a powerful bit of poetry and such a gut punch. So sad, but the fact that you are here, writing it...is a positive and a display of your strong character. Well done and thank you for being so brave and open!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.