Poets logo

Influencer

A poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5

All day long you play pretend

your ego is huge. It doesn't end.

You claim everything is the greatest thing ever

do you even own one thing that you truly treasure?

You hide behind filters and the brightest ring lights

you spread negativity and drama in Youtube fights

You spend thousands of dollars on things that are viral

your content is repetitive, an overdone spiral

you stay in your bubble, getting high off of likes.

the shares, the comments giving you dopamine spikes.

Do you even remember what it feels like outside?

That screen doesn't matter, it's just a place to hide.

Remember what it felt like to have a real conversation?

Do you remember any emotion other than frustration?

Some days I wish the entire internet would fall

Being chained to a device is no life at all

Just some random thoughts that happen to rhyme.

Surely, I'm not the only one who misses the early days of the internet.. The days where it was more about games and real people over.. whatever is going on these days.

I feel like I can't even open a webpage without seeing some product or app mass marketed by thousands of influencers. The world has become so boring and fake in my opinion. -Sara

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Outstanding! I agree--things don't seem to be changing for the better! Awesome work Sara!

  • I think I'm about to find out what it's like to go back to those days. Our electricity has been off for 4 hours now, there's no indication it's coming back anytime soon, & my battery is down to 30%.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Well said and wonderfully written. Love the flow and the rhymes. Great work with this, Sara. I share the same thoughts and feelings really.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    That was so good! The flow was amazing. I loved the line “your content is repetitive, an overdone spiral” and I agree with you. I’ve cut off so many notifications because they are pointless to me. Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.