Poets logo

Poppy's Preferences Pt3

Underrated Discoveries: Showcasing less-read stories in the poets community

By Poppy Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
12
Poppy's Preferences Pt3
Photo by Adam Przeniewski on Unsplash

Welcome back to Poppy's Preferences :)

If you're new here, let me introduce you to the purpose of this series.

Poppy's Preferences shares some recent stories published in the Poets community that I really enjoyed. Most of these don't have many reads but I usually can't help mention a couple that already have some reads/comments but deserve way more.

Please check out the poems and creators; both are linked.

Note: I recently found out one of the poems I shared in Part 1 was actually most likely written by AI with no credit. I've now removed it from the story and I guess I'll be checking for that now.

For more information on AI writing, check out Ashley Lima's How To Spot AI Poetry.

❀❀❀❀❀

Unreciprocated Melodies by Anna

I'll never tire of poems about unrequited love, so naturally, I adore this poem. It's so relatable but provides an uplifting perspectful whilst also highlighting the pain involved. The rhyming makes for an effortless, relaxing read.

Looking Glass by Erin Barteski

This one is about a heavy topic but perfectly portrayed. It's a great example of how something tragic can make great art, specifically poetry. Definitely give it a read!

Wish by Bex Jordan

This poem is unique and thoughtful with a really great ending. An awesome read if you're looking for something relaxing.

Five and a Half Years by Dana Hartnett

The extreme emotions and hurt gush from every line of this poem as we follow the poet through the experiences and heartbreaks of a long-term toxic relationship. The whole thing is really a fist to the gut which demonstrates such talent. On top of that, there's really captivating rhyming.

Correspondence by R.I. Károly

I must admit, it was the picture that caught my attention, but the poem reaches the high standards it set. I'm in awe of people who can write gorgeous haiku like this.

❀❀❀❀❀

Here is one that already has a few reads and comments but deserves heaps more.

Sorry by Sara Wilson

This is another heartfelt poem about a toxic relationship and domestic violence. It does an incredible job of portraying such an important heavy topic, highlighting the abuser's behavior and manipulations as well as the victim's thoughts and feelings. Amazingly written.

❀❀❀❀❀

One of Mine:

❀❀❀❀❀

Others in the Series:

list
12

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Besides yours, which I adore, "Correspondence" and "Wish" were my favorites here. I thoroughly enjoyed "Five Years" and "Sorry" as well! Amazing list, Poppy. Thank you so much for sharing. I'm sorry I am just now visiting them.

  • Bex Jordan9 months ago

    I feel honored to be included amongst such talented poets, thank you for sharing these works! I appreciate you so much ❤️

  • Apart from you, Sara Wilson and Bex Jordan, I don't know anyone else. I gotta circle back here to read theirs when I have the time. So happy you put this together!

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    Thank you so much for including me in this. I really think it's amazing when people highlight other writers. I'm also not ignoring anyone, I see everyone who has commented and read that particular piece. I'm just having a hard time replying as it was so very personal and I'm still processing the emotions that came through that night I wrote it. Anyways, the other poems featured here are so beautiful! Even if they mostly have such heavy subjects. I even resonated with the piece about dandelions. I too obsess a little over their medical benefits 💛 Thank you for pieces like this. These are honestly some of my most favorite because I get to read what I may not have found on my own 🤗🤗

  • Dana Hartnett9 months ago

    thank you thank you thank you!! I'm excited to check out the other authors here. what an awesome thing you do to get different pieces some readers. i appreciate you more than you know!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Another great selection, Poppy! I shall dive into them later. Love that you highlighted a Bex Jordan piece, as she is one of my favourite writers on here, as is Sara Wilson, and that piece you shared is maybe her best so far...Then there is also plenty of writers for me to check out! Thank you for your commitment to this great series - I am enjoying the fact that when people do these...while there may be some crossover...there are always writers and pieces that I've not read yet!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.