Poets logo

Songs in My Heart

an abecedarian ode to my mentor, comprised of Broadway song titles

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
1
Songs in My Heart
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

At Last my journey leads to a new life,

Building Momentum to a brighter tomorrow, A

Change in Me, hope where there once was sorrow,

Dangerous to Dream of freedom from hardship and strife.

Endless Night clears, dawn breaking through the cloud,

For Good triumphs, evil vanished without a trace. A

Golden Age began when I first saw your face,

High Flying, Adored, a god amongst the crowd.

In a Crowd of Thousands, emerald eyes looked my way

Just Dance under the radar away from prying eyes,

Kill Your Kind of awkwardness which people so despise.

Loneliness of Evening steals in, doubtful voices play

Music of the Night, their sad mournful refrain.

Not While I'm Around will their echoes win - I'll never be affected!

One Day More passes, years an endless blur since you resurrected a

Poor Sister wasted, wayward, no desire to start again, a

Quartet of years ago, I was nothing but a bitter

Reflection, perversion of what a woman should be.

Sympathy, Tenderness in your voice whispered to me,

"This is Not Over Yet!" and I'm no quitter!

Undying Love born that night from faith and kindness so rare

Vivez! Long live the passion no longer content to

Wait for It, that glorious gateway into

Xanadu, out perfect paradise where

You'll Never Walk Alone, and neither will I, for

Zazz, that wanderlust for life, unites us forever more.

****************************

(Songs mentioned: At Last - Dracula: the musical; Building Momentum - How to Dance in Ohio; A Change in Me - Beauty and the Beast; Dangerous to Dream - Frozen; Endless Night - The Lion King; For Good - Wicked; A Golden Age - Frankenstein: a new musical; High Flying, Adored - Evita; In a Crowd of Thousands - Anastasia; Just Dance - Diana: the musical; Kill Your Kind - Lestat; Loneliness of Evening - Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella; Music of the Night - The Phantom of the Opera; Now While I'm Around - Sweeney Todd; One Day More - Les Miserables; Poor Sister - Jane Eyre; Quartet - The Secret Garden; Reflection - A Tale of Two Cities; Sympathy, Tenderness - Jekyll and Hyde; This is Not Over Yet - Parade; Undying Love - It Happened in Key West; Vivez! - The Scarlet Pimpernel; Wait for It - Hamilton; Xanadu; You'll Never Walk Alone - Carousel; Zazz - The Prom )

Odelove poems
1

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.