Poets logo

Ode to Killian

an abecedarian poem for my (other) cat

By Morgan Rhianna BlandPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
My cat, Killian

Appearing out of nowhere with a funny meep sound,

Big blue eyes and bigger ears, like a bat’s

Cute clingy cuddlebug, the pretty kitty cat

Dull moments are hard to come by with her around!

Every morning, she greets me with the sunrise,

Flopping before my feet with a sweet upward glance,

Gesticulating, gyrating back and forth like a breakdance.

Head-butts are the love language which she specializes

In case you get distracted, she’ll remind you she’s still here

Just when I get a minute’s peace, there she is again

Kneady little paws making biscuits on my skin

Loud little voice rings out strong and clear,

Meowing at my door throughout the night.

Nose bites are her special brand of kisses

Ow! Although it hurts, I wouldn’t want to miss this.

Prison-stripe markings of gray, black, and white,

Quirky, crazy kitty wants to play a little game.

Running, rushing up and down the halls.

Sitting on my shoulder, her favorite perch of all

Towering above, like a queen surveying her domain.

Underwear, socks, towels, all her plundered treasures

Vanish from their drawer, hidden in her pirate’s horde.

Work is not an option whenever she gets bored,

X-tra pets, food, and attention given for her pleasure.

You never know what she’ll do next, when she’ll start

Zooming through the house on her way to your heart

Ode
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Rhianna Bland

I'm an aroace brain AVM survivor from Tennessee. My illness left me unable to live a normal life with a normal job, so I write stories to earn money.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Morgan Rhianna Bland is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.