Poets logo

Son's Lament

I'm your SON

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 28 days ago 1 min read

Mom, why didn't you believe me when I told you the truth? That your friends were betraying you, stealing your youth. Why did you choose them, over and over again, Leaving me in the shadows, to cope with the pain?

I'm your son, your child, flesh of your flesh, Yet you treated me like a stranger, always second best. Each time I reached out, hoping you'd see, You turned away, leaving only misery.

Your friends wore masks, deceit in their eyes, While I stood by, watching your demise. I warned you, pleaded, with a heart full of fear, But my words fell like whispers, never reaching your ear.

Why do you pick everyone over me? What have I done to deserve this cruelty? In your eyes, I'm invisible, a ghost of your past, While their false smiles have your love, holding steadfast.

I am the one who should matter the most, But you treat me like an unwelcome ghost. Mom, I needed you, your love and your care, Yet you left me abandoned, in a world of despair.

Nights filled with tears, days full of dread, A childhood of longing, for words never said. Why treat me like a second-class person, When all I wanted was your love in return?

I see you with them, laughter in your eyes, While I stand alone, under darkening skies. Your friends may deceive you, but I never would, I tried to protect you, I did all I could.

Yet here I remain, in the shadows you cast, A son forgotten, left in the past. Mom, why couldn't you see, why couldn't you care? Why did you leave me alone in my despair?

Now I hold the pieces of a shattered heart, A child forsaken, torn apart. All I wanted was to be your pride, But you chose them, and cast me aside.

Mom, why didn't you believe me when I told you the truth? That your friends were betraying you, stealing your youth. Why did you choose them, over and over again, Leaving me in shadows, to cope with the pain?

sad poetryslam poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    This is a super poignant piece. I can really feel your frustration and desperation so pointedly. Abandonment hurts, especially by a parent.

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.