Poets logo

The Prodigal Demon

Son of the Devil

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 28 days ago 2 min read
Save Me

Dad, you called me your successor, your protege, In your shadow, you led me far astray. The crimes you forced me to commit, heinous and vile, each act, each sin, stole my innocent smile.

You fashioned me in your image, a creature of night, with hands stained red, and a soul void of light. I thought my spirit was doomed to Hell's embrace, each wicked deed etched on my face.

In darkened alleys, where sin was rife, you taught me to take, to snuff out life. I became the monster you wished me to be, chained by the horrors that haunted me.

The weight of guilt, a burden I bear, a soul shredded by acts of despair. Yet deep within, a flicker remained, a hope you never taught, a light unexplained.

In the stillness of night, I found my plea, a desperate cry for mercy, a yearning to be free. "Forgive me, Lord," my heart would sigh, for in His grace, I wished to lie.

I look at the cross, His sacrifice there, a love so profound, so pure, so rare. Christ bore the sins of men like me, offering redemption, a chance to be free.

I see the nails, the crown of thorns, His blood poured out, my spirit mourns. For each crime, each sin, I weep and pray, seeking His light to guide my way.

Dad, you taught me power through fear and might, but hope is found in His holy light. I walk a path now, seeking His grace, to cleanse my soul, to find my place.

In scripture's words, I find my balm, a promise of peace, a divine calm. "Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow," a hope reborn, in His love, I grow.

The church bells toll, a hymn of grace, calling the lost, to seek His face. For in His arms, the prodigal finds a love that heals, redeems, and binds.

Dad, you wanted me to follow your lead, but I seek a savior to intercede. My soul was marred by deeds so fell, yet in His promise, I shall dwell.

I tread this path, with hope anew, a life transformed, a heart made true. For though you taught me darkest night, I’ve found my Savior, my guiding light.

He beckons me from shadows deep, a shepherd calling, His lost sheep. And though I fear Hell's flames so fierce, his grace alone, my soul does pierce.

So here I stand, a penitent son, with hope restored, my journey begun. For in His love, I've found my way, to live in light, and with Him stay.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • shanmuga priya28 days ago

    Interesting poem with exceptional writting.

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.