Poets logo

Sometimes When We Touch

Sorry, not Sorry, Mr Dan Hill.

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
15
Sometimes When We Touch
Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Sometimes when we touch,

the honesty is too much

I close my beady eyes and hide

Tho, not trying to be snide

I wanna hold you 'til I die

'til my brain can't move my thigh

I wanna hold you

'til the feeling subsides

But

Other times, when we touch,

The texture is too much

I wanna run away and hide

Definitely being a little snide

I wanna stay away until you die

'til you give out your last sigh

I wanna stay away

'til your heartbeat subsides

*

Thanks for reading!

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    hahaha. This is great.

  • Caleb Gold11 months ago

    Nice poet

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Hey Paul! Been off Vocal for several days and have so much reading to do!!! This one was perfect! Loved the individual's dichotomy of emotions here.. OR two people with opposing feelings. Hmmm. Has me thinking. Now the song is in my head. lol! Brilliant work!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    FFS...got that song stuck in my head now, lol!! Ear worm aside, I liked what you did here. That's what I call "kiss me, kill me". Sometimes, I want to hold you til I die, others, I want to hold a pillow over you...hahahaha!!!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    So this reminds me of a story I’m working on. It’s autobiographical fiction inspired by my last relationship. I was doing research on trauma responses to intimacy. I found out the 4 types are fight, flight, freeze, and fawn. This blew my mind, because I realized my ex would oscillate between fight, flight, and freeze. I never knew who I was going to get. I would swing between flight and fawn, either dissociating from my body as my mind was completely elsewhere, or being so focused on pleasing the other person I had no boundaries and no autonomy. Of course poetry is so open to interpretation I could be way off, but this made me think of how those anxieties can plague romantic relationships.

  • Emotions of two different extremes! This was brilliant!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Paul, this felt like a really passionate and heartfelt piece! I can really appreciate the opposing language in this one, it feels insight and provokes a lot of thought for me. Making me dig deeper and navigate the emotions you want to portray! Smart writing, there!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Excellent!

  • hahaha, there is a pill for that

  • Opposites in extremis.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    The texture is too much 🤣🤣🫣. Well done!

  • Mohammed Darasi12 months ago

    Great poem Paul! I love the flipping in emotion there 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    Very touching! :) Nicely done, Paul!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.