Poets logo

At Peace In My Pluviophilia

Sensational Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
14
At Peace In My Pluviophilia
Photo by Jamie Brown on Unsplash

As the clouds gather and the skies darken

I hear the comforting rumble of thunder

Then see the short, sharp flashes lighten

As the heavens open, I stand directly under

*

Drip drop, pitter-patter,

Memories frozen, former, latter

Drip drop, pitter-patter

Memories frozen; nothing matters

*

As the rain continues to fall incessantly

I feel the calming of the storm on my skin

Then I smell the musky, pleasant scent of Petrichor, increasing

As the waters soak through me, clothing and all, I win

*

Every waterlogged step of my boots

Every satisfying squelch, I am at peace in my Pluviophilia

The way the denim sticks to my skin and takes root

I am at peace

*

I stand and lick at my lips as if the rain was some delicious elixir

And, of course, it is

it is.

*

Thanks for reading!

Another entry into the Sensational Challenge. You can find more information about it here -

I hope you enjoyed it, and I would love to hear what you thought! Even if you don't have time for those shenanigans, click the heart.

You can also take a look at these pieces if you have time and inclination:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

surreal poetryvintageperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    So I hearted this, but forgot to comment. (I do that a lot.) This was a sensual poem that perfectly describes why I’m “Only Happy When It Rains.” Haha, off topic but I always wondered if Scottish people are proud of Shirley Manson. I have lived in very rainy climates for a while now, going from Guam which has monsoons, to Honolulu (rainbow state with a rainforest), to the Pacific Northwest. Now I live in Minnesota, where we get tons of rain and snow, and have over 11,000 lakes. And I just love it. Something about the water element brings out the creativity in me. And something about an overcast sky is so romantic. Something about the sound and smell of rain, that you captured here. Fog always makes me feel like I’m in a fairytale. Then, after the rain, everything is so lush and green.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This was incredibly well done. Drip drop, pitter patter.

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I love all of this 😁 Very relatable, and pluviophile and petrichor are two of my favourite words. This bit is my favourite: "The way the denim sticks to my skin and takes root"

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed this. It's such a freeing feeling to become drenched down to the bone and be able to relish in those sensations. Of course it's a bit miserable if you're trying to get somewhere, lol. A wonderful take on the challenge. You may select two pastries of your choice as a reward :)

  • Lacey Dearie12 months ago

    Ahh rain is something we know all about in our part of the world! Great job

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Awesome job my friend, felt I was there :)

  • Kelley Stead12 months ago

    I looooooved this! You really did a great job of tying the physical sensations to the mental and emotional ones. Lovely flow. Best of luck in the challenge. You’ve got my vote for this gem. 👌

  • I love this. Who knew I was a pluviophile?

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Fabulous writing Paul! BRAVO!!!!! I could visualize everything!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.