Poets logo

Snacks

John from The Half Paper Moon

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6

(My novel The Half Paper Moon)

He is dead

Dead dead dead

The man is dead

I am dead

Frozen in pomegranate panic

Frozen in death that lives onward in sinew that stews

In his arms, I linger with the notion of my death

The layers that choke

The happiness I ground into fine waste

I am that waste

As I slipped into the air-tight room of death

The sphere of Hell’s wrath fell down upon my sinful head

I was both Persephone and Hades

Chained to a specific time

But my sweetheart brings me to spring

He revives me

The one I found gave me fresh water

No liquid death

I remember as I wept, stuffing my face with old, stale snacks

The fake orange fine print cataloging my starvation

I tap-danced a frantic beat of my mother with her heels

Dropped by a few smarts

That crawled into my throat like a muscle memory

I was a child and I was killed

The man I became

Dead dead dead

And I find myself swimming in living droughts of death

Kissing my lover in a blush of midnight black

Grieving over the twisted guts of orange.

No moon because I shrouded it in a curtain of

A chalice containing

Poison I consumed with gusto

That read like a commercial jingle

Full of dead rats I built in my head.

fact or fictionheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is wild. Love how descriptive it is. The pomegranate panic, and the twisted guts of orange are particularly horrifying visuals. Really well done.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    I don't know if you've ever played the game "Hades", but their take on the Hades/Persephone mythos was comprehensive and far more congenial to the poor God of the Underworld, who, we must admit, got the short end of the stick when drawing lots with his brothers! I agree with Dharrsheena, "Pomegranate Panic" is both an excellent use of illiteration and imagery!

  • I haven't a clue what this is about, Melissa, yet I somehow identify with it. How strange is that?

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Gosh this was so intense! I freaking loved it so much! Pomegranate panic was my favourite!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    This was excellent. And I find myself swimming in living droughts of death…wow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.