Poets logo

Smile & Sigh

Down the Road

By SchmalzPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Smile & Sigh
Photo by Dani Marroquin on Unsplash

The dogs are howling

And the sun sinks low

Here I sit just dreaming of you

With a smile and sigh

I rock in my chair

Can't forget memories of you

Times we started

Smiles we shared

Fond memories in my view

So I smile and sigh

About the good time

And I try to say goodbye

Rockin in my chair

As days pass me by

Wont someone sing me a lullaby

One day I know I'll find

Some dusty old chair

And dream in my mind

With a smile and sigh

Accept your goodbye

Rockin in my chair

I'll say to myself

The best thing was knowing you

I smile and I sigh

Dream of you every night

A prisoner of your love

Locked out of sight

With a smile and sigh

My fondest memories are of you

love poems

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Hi Schmalz - I'm so glad that I've just discovered your so gorgeous eclectic presentations. *I've subscribed with pleasure to see what you may come up with next; I see that you haven't been in the VillageBucket for months.   I'm not a writer as you are, just a retired legal professional; a simple storyteller to archive 'For the kids Someday.' I've just written my 1st poem "Llama & Koala"..it didn't flow out of me as yours seem to do so freely. I'm not into contests or self promotion. I just enjoy doing my own sketching and leading into my short stories that way. Nice to virtually meet you, Schmalz; is that a non gen-specific 'handle.' I will be scrolling through your offerings. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Awww, this was so sweet! Loved your poem!

SchmalzWritten by Schmalz

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.