Poets logo

I'm Sinking Down

Down & Out

By SchmalzPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
I'm Sinking Down
Photo by raquel raclette on Unsplash

I'm sinking down low

I’m going down to hell

To see some old friends

Cause there’s no redemption for me on this land

But I’ll drink whiskey and listen to the band

Dance with a girl who I can’t stand

Play with her heart like the strings from the band

And when I’m done I’ll be losing again

I’ll drink till I sleep with a gun in my hand

Quivers and shakes and aches are all I feel now

I’m going down low don’t plan on rising again

And I’ll go and I’ll go without any friends

Cause the bottle is warm and the river looks sweet

But I’m diving deep to never come back to the land

And if my soul rise it will all disappear

Like my fate in a mirror that was never here

I’m going back to hell to see what’s there

And I don’t mind if it all disappears

Like the river that runs I was already there

And nothing can save me no way no how

So I’ll dance with the demons

And we’ll all have a cheer

Think I might have a beer

Drown in that river

But I was already there

sad poetry

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    This was so poignant and beautifully written! I loved it!

SchmalzWritten by Schmalz

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.