Poets logo

Slush Puppies Reflection

Cold Ice That Would Soothe

By C. H. RichardPublished 30 days ago Updated 29 days ago 1 min read
7
Slush Puppies Reflection
Photo by Eryk Piotr Munk on Unsplash

“Is your tongue blue or green?”

The kids in my neighborhood would scream.

It often looked like mush.

I shared one with my first crush.

Turn your lips red, green, or blue.

On a hot summer day,

It would soothe.

The face of a puppy was enticing.

The flavored cold ice sufficing.

Lime Rickey was delicious.

However, none were nutritious.

Blue Raspberry was my fav.

Ah to remember!

The childhood crave!

Sad free hand drawing by author of Slush Puppies logo - lol

OdehumorFree Verse
7

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Jefferson19 days ago

    Cherish the people around you because they make life worth living. Make the most of every day and live it to the fullest because we never know how much time we have left. I wish you good health, a bright future and a happy life. May you always be surrounded by love and support. 🙏🙏🙏

  • Whether homemade or store-bought, yummy memories.

  • Oh I love slushies! It's been like more than 25 years since I had one. Can't even recall my favourite flavour, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson30 days ago

    Love your ode to childhood slush!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins30 days ago

    Ha! I remember those, especially turning my lips colors, lol. Well done, Cindy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.