Poets logo

Slipped Away

If you love someone, let them go

By Monique WillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Slipped Away
Photo by Mark Cruz on Unsplash

As natural as the rotation of the earth, the flow of the waters, and the breath of mother nature, so were we

As perfect as Eve was made from Man's rib, so was she

Attractive as sin itself, man could she make a man fall from grace

Gave me the space to grow, a reason to love, and a desire to show

My innermost being

Love that surpassed all understanding

I couldn't fathom why she continued to love me

Took advantage of her soft heart, "I can't help it" compassion, and ignored her concerned cries

Held the key and played watchguard over her heart

But somehow stood idle while it continued to obtain battle wounds

Slowly, yet abruptly lost her trust

As she was forced to deal with the endless questions and doubts

But through it all she smiled, she laughed, she cared

However, lately all I hear is crying, screaming, and her silently dying inside

As much as I want to have her, I can't stand by and watch this happen to my love

I messed up, time and time again, and sadly I must say

It may be too little, too late to say I'm sorry, I'll change

So now I have to go on knowing

I let my angel...slip away

love poems
1

About the Creator

Monique Will

Family over everything. Natural hair enthusiast. Writer. Lover of love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.