Poets logo

Sleeping with the enemy (2012)

By Adrianne Kirksey

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Sleeping with the enemy (2012)
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

I thought I tried hard.

To share what little love I had left.-

But after the day you hit me,

Wanted to kill you where you slept.-

I thought I changed for you.-

But, I guess I have not proved to you.-

That I love you for you.-

To unfinished business.-

To whores you've been with.-

From vagrant looks and stares.-

I'm starting not to care.-

Betrayed me from the very beginning.-

Who are you loyal to?-

Because, you make me feel dumb,

used;

A common fool.-

After the fights,-

And me crying all night.-

From your verbal threats to leave.-

Wearing my heart, on my sleeve.-

From crying myself to sleep.-

Watching you trying to creep.-

IT DAWNED ON ME ONE DAY.

I'm sleeping with the Enemy.

He has great expectations of me.

Yet I shouldn't EXPECT anything.

He's calls me his, "Wife"

But I will never get the ring.

Slick ways, that I see through.

But, he won't give me the credit.-

And if I speak up for myself,

I'll regret, that I said it.-

I feel disconnected with someone.-

There should, be a connection

But when a man hits you,-

and cheats on you,-

Should that man,

even get affection?-

Somedays are good.

Most days I have to fight.-

One day I may lose my mind.

One day, I may lose my life.-

I'll never back down,

from what I believe.

Even if I do wear

my heart on my sleeve.-

See,

After the fights.-

And me crying all night.-

From the chic's,

calling your phone.-

From us not being in sync,

or getting along.-

From crying myself to sleep.

Watching you try to creep.

Realized,

that I'm sleeping with the enemy.

You ain't no friend of me.

May your last dream,

be a nightmare of you torturing me.

Take a deep breath.

I hope you die in your sleep-AK

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.