Poets logo

Siren's Curse Broken

Never Alone

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
10
Siren's Curse Broken
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

A Poem for Poppy's Prompt

*

You're like the sirens, he said

dangerous and alluring

Some descriptions I read

declaring his love for me

On tiny postcards he wrote

each one gaining my favor

every kiss lightly coated

with bewitching demeanor

Your dark eyes and pale skin

are completely consuming

The devil may care grin

beautifully unassuming

His promise sang to my heart

like the gentlest of windchimes

An abstract work of art

spanning the end of time

Sandcastles. were the loves. that I held before him

fragile and weak, sifting right through my hands

The ocean a grave, before he taught me to swim

paradise transformed out of ravaged badlands

love poemssurreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Well done! Keep up the good work!🥰

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    So many love poems are a cheesy mess. This one is not. Nicely crafted!

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    Ooh this is awesome! "every kiss lightly coated with bewitching demeanor" Are wonderful lines! "The ocean a grave, before he taught me to swim" THAT LINE IS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!! That's the kind of lines that get super famous and you see all over pinterest because they're so raw and cleverly worded! I just love that.

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙

  • Fragile, like sandcastles before the rising tide, so is a love that has not yet learned to swim. How's that for mixing & blending metaphors? (I know, I'm dumb.)

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very nicely made

  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    Good work, this could have also been kind of a Valentine.

  • Beautiful 5 in 1 poem!!!🤩 ‘On tiny postcards he wrote each one gaining my favor’… everything fitted seamlessly. Wonderful conclusion.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Oh, you did it! Got 'em all and created a great poem, too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.