Poets logo

When Your Name Is Called

No Escape

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
14
When Your Name Is Called
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

My take on Poppy's Prompt

*

Upon my door, a postcard

as the wind began to blow

A message from the graveyard

from someone I used to know

My teeth chattered like windchimes

as my fear began to grow

The sirens called at bedtime

whispering, "it was my time to go"

I bargained and I haggled

there's still so much for me to see

My life like mere sandcastles

being ravaged by the sea

Leaving nothing but a shallow grave

where time rests upon the sand

Grains pulled away with every wave

by death's swift and unseen hand

I tore up that old postcard

burnt it and threw it in the trash

But death is a faithful guard

I was the one that turned to ash

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    Congratulations on gaining 3rd Place in Poppy’s February Challenge. Well deserved✅

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Mortality is fleeting. This poem is not. I like it a lot! Well done!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    I love it!!😍

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oooof. This is so beautifully woven and powerfully heartfelt. I think the word Poppy used below is perfect: impactful. 💗

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Damn! This is so alluring and impactful!! "The sirens called at bedtime whispering, "it was my time to go"" Love those lines!! The consistent rhyming was so seamlessly done! Made the flow so captivating. And that ending was so satisfying but confronting.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    loved it! Truthful and raw

  • This was so stunningly poignant and beautiful! Loved your take on Poppy's Prompts!

  • Achingly beautiful, Kelli. My fear is that when my time comes, Death will have forgotten my name & not know how to find me.

  • Wow!😮 Another 5 in 1!✅ Loved it all, especially ‘My teeth chattered like windchimes as my fear began to grow The sirens called at bedtime whispering, "it was my time to go"

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    Love this. Good work.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is amazing, my friend. Well done.

  • Ha Le Sa4 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Oustanding! Another home run, Kelli!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Damn girl, this is spectacular, Kelli! Well done....such fine use of the prompts. Felt the gothic vibes to this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.