Poets logo

Silent Nights

Poem

By Huzaifa MalikPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Silent Nights
Photo by Sander Dewerte on Unsplash

Tied up in unseen chains,

Under this waning moon,

With the deserted, dry winds,

Where did my tears drift?

My lips - dry, chapped, bleeding

But a heart is injured, deep.

Where to carry this burden to?

Screams, tears, blood....

I am the music, I am the howl,

That pierced through silent nights.

I am the wine, I am the blood,

Of the grails that turned graves.

Again, I pull on these chains.

No! I can't be free again!

My hands did bleed to quench my thirst.

It falls into the parched throat of earth.

Silence, silence....

That drinks my life.

The dark moonless nights,

That rest in my blue eyes.

I am dying alive, in this chain.

Is there a saviour nearby?

Only my muted screams,

On the walls of this silent night.

A raven, voiceless now.

I see him on the scaffold.

Tranquil, like the fading life.

Would you hear this silence?

The nights continue,

Without a pause, the absence of words.

And at last, a ray did shine.

When the embers died......

Somewhere deep in my soul......

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.