Poets logo

Silence

The Subtle Rejection

By Michelle LynnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I should feel accomplished

Part of me actually does

To the other side

I close my eyes and reminisce

Of random moments

That held joy and happiness

Laughter, true laughter

And a bright light glowing around me

Then I open my eyes

I hear the silence

I hear it through the whistling wind

I hear it through my breathing

I hear it through the deep dark night

It is literally nothing

It is the response of a rock

Or maybe that of a tree

Wait—It couldn’t be a tree

I would’ve heard the swaying branches

What is more silent than rejection

Rather the lack of response rejection

Is he merely a coward

Or does he want to pretend I don’t exist

Maybe he saves me this way

To let me not feel embarrassed

To make me not actually feel rejected

So I may move along and stop trying

And yet, I just feel unworthy

Unworthy of an “I’m not interested”

He took the cowardice road

My mind is paying his tolls

But I took the winding road

That road of courage and fear

Acknowledgment is better than silence

But I will rest my purpose

I cannot force a boy to be a man

I cannot speak to what I want to hear

I can move forward

And know I didn’t hold back

I did not leave silence

I merely followed his cue of no response

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.