Poets logo

Silence

It is and isn't.

By Jacob ShermanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Silence
Photo by Дмитрий Хрусталев-Григорьев on Unsplash

Silence

is not a weapon

that I level against you —

to assail you, whether

with passivity or aggression,

is beyond me.

Not a weapon,

but a window.

Thin though it must always be,

I struggle to hold it open,

to frantically seek

every second that I might salvage

from the burning wreckage of a question

aimed at me,

soaked in desperation,

and in love, like gasoline.

What did you mean?

How did you come upon

all of that fear?

You think I didn't hear,

or that I've chosen to ignore

you at your very most vulnerable.

But before I can speak, you see,

I must choose my words with care.

There, in the gravity of the moment,

I become lost.

I stare, as one who sees across galaxies

but cannot find my answer.

Though I never meant to,

I've left you to hang in the

silence.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steçi2 years ago

    Excellent! Very strong wording, I love this poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.