Poets logo

Shrove Tuesday: A Poem

Celebrating Pancake Day

By Amber BristowPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
44
Shrove Tuesday: A Poem
Photo by Sam Moghadam Khamseh on Unsplash

Pancake Day is a time of delight,

When we flip and toss with all our might,

With syrup, butter, and fruit in sight,

We savour every fluffy bite.

*

Some make theirs thin, some make them thick,

Some use a recipe, some just pick,

But one thing's for sure, we love the thrill,

Of eating pancakes till we feel ill.

*

So let's gather round and have some fun,

We'll eat until the morning sun,

And when our bellies weigh a ton,

We'll know Pancake Day was well done!

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetry
44

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Any excuse to celebrate them and imbibe works for me! :)

  • Francis Katikuabout a year ago

    Great one

  • Li Maabout a year ago

    Spanking!!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Awesome, but now I want some pancakes. Great stuff, Amber. I love the playfulness and just sheer unadulterated joy of it!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Yay! Pancakes! I want some 😄😋. I know I'm a bit belated but Congratulations on your top story.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Aw, this is so cute. I love how happy and upbeat it is… just like pancakes!

  • J. Jayabout a year ago

    What a delightful poem!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Super fun and yummy. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Andrew Bristowabout a year ago

    Brilliantly put

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Superb! I love pancakes🎂

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Yum. Fun poem. Pancakes topped with a Top Story!! 🥰. Congratulations

  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    Wow! What a yummy poem. Your poem makes me want pancakes now, lol!

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    What a way to celebrate. Great job and I too want some pancakes now.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Beautiful work and congratulations!! And now I’m hungry 🤣🤣

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love pancake day! Fun poem. Congratulations on Top story! Hearted and subscribed.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So fun and I do love some pancakes!! It was Fastnacht Day here! I enjoyed this sweet poem. Congratulations on top Story!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You put a smile on my face. Congratulations on your well deserved Top Story!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Mmm! my favorite is blueberry or just plain. And I do have a recipe for the thick and fluffy type. Thanks for being inspired to write and share this.

  • Now I'm craving pancakes, lol! This was a fun poem!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Just delightful! This made me want pancakes :) Great job!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I see you met Cathy. So talented. Wonderful poem. Well done.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is a great reminder of childhood days. Thank you for sharing. Now excuse me while I go make pancakes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.