Poets logo

Shoutout to My Parasocial Elders

To My Community Healers Whom I've Never Met

By R.C. TaylorPublished about a month ago Updated 28 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
Shoutout to My Parasocial Elders
Photo by dole777 on Unsplash

Shoutout to My Parasocial Elders,

to my Community Healers

whom I’ve never met.

Shoutout to Mimi Zhu

who taught me to

Be Not Afraid of Love

and to always practice

radical citation

and to own my experiences

because no matter what

they are a part of my journey

to love and be loved.

Shoutout to Ladyspeech

The Goddess King

who taught me that if I didn’t

do my own work

while I was saving other people

that savior complex was actually

hurting my community

so it was time to confront myself.

Shoutout to Dr. Raquel Martin

Who continually reminds me that

my Black Womanhood

is automatically scholarly

because these degrees say so

regardless of your perception

of me therefore I no longer need

to remain in the confines of people's

expectations of me.

Shoutout to thedailyvictorian

Who practices mindfulness

And yoga while delivering

poetry and gave me the thought

that perhaps I could be a poet

and heal myself too.

Shoutout to my Parasocial Elders

for making me think I could be like you.

slam poetryGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

I write to invoke, to process, to honor, to resurrect, and—sometimes—to grieve but, above all, I write to be free.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. nostalgia and other affairs of the heart).

🌱Facebook🌱

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin25 days ago

    Fantastic writing.

  • That's a. Creative way to boost other creators and writers very sweet

  • Paul Stewart27 days ago

    I shall admit that I have no idea who these people are - but, that's not important. They are important to you and have helped you (clearly) and I love the sentiment of naming and praising those who have had a positive influence in our lives. Especially as there is so much negativity on Social Media...it's nice to hear about the positive voices out there. Well done on a positive and uplifting and important Top Story, RC!

  • Paula R27 days ago

    Support system. <3

  • THIS 💖

  • Congrats on your TS.

  • shanmuga priya28 days ago

    Congratulations for your work 🎉.

  • Lamar Wiggins28 days ago

    👏👏👏 Thank you for giving back to the community. Very admirable!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Shirley Belk28 days ago

    Well done!

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Such a powerful and freeing depiction of inspiration! Loved this!

  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    Aww GODDESS!!! This is ALL!!! Plus the links to more love??? Righteous!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so empowering! Loved your poem!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is a wonderful celebration of those who help us find our way to freedom and selfhood, RC!

R.C. TaylorWritten by R.C. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.