Poets logo

Shed

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unnamed awakened being from Claymore.

Daydreams about driving far away from my home,

Fantasies about taking off from this life.

Craving raw sunsets and beaches I’ve never seen,

Waterfalls for magicians and those purple

Mountains majesty I’ve yet to succumb to.

Perhaps I am insatiable or just plain fickle,

Unable to find solace in the world around me.

Powerless to the magic right in front of me,

I would rather search for happiness in a moving car,

A flying plane, a train, a bus, anything to leave.

Do we all have that urge to get up and run,

Shedding away our skin, abandoning our identity.

To shed away our misfortunes and milestones,

To find peace in a distance from your hometown.

To not say goodbye to a soul, to not worry at all,

Is it some sort of primal instinct we never escaped?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.