Poets logo

The Path of Misfortune

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Clare and Galatea fighting Dauf. (Claymore)

When I was walking on the beaten path,

A very small something jumped out of the bushes

And latched its jaw around my ankle.

I screamed! I tried to shake it off, but the creature

Had sunk its vicious teeth into my skin.

I could feel its teeth clasping onto my bone,

And that brought me down in more ways than one.

After begging the creature to let go to no avail,

I accepted its heavyweight and continued on,

Only to be bitten again and again.

Covered in wounds traveling down the path of misfortune,

I have no choice but to learn how to shed this pain.

Will I slit the jaw open, and allow their body to thump to the ground, wriggling in horror?

Shall I scream and cry, hoping it will take pity on my pity?

After walking for so long down the beaten path,

I am certain that a predator would never, ever,

Feel sorrow for the pain it has caused.

The predator that latched onto my ankles

Won’t shake free, because my blood is that sweet.

To shed my misery, to shed the pain that it has caused,

I must end what has tried to end me.

I must be brave and cut myself free,

Even if it means confronting their hatred before my eyes.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.