Poets logo

She was the Summer they write about in books

a poem

By JessiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
She was the Summer they write about in books
Photo by Manny Moreno on Unsplash

I met her in a dusty record shop

It was a sultery day on the boardwalk

She asked me about the bus route,

then for hours on we still talked...

Her voice was pastel and her mouth was soft

Eyes speckled with green and yellow dots

I mustered all of my confidence

and invited her up to my cheap loft

Hair like honey and a heart of gold

I melted for her like butter on a stove

she made my Summer one I still hold

Close to my heart with endless love

She was the Summer they write about in books

She had fire for soul and a garden for looks

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jim DeLillo2 years ago

    “Sultry.” How very 1940s of you. But highly evocative. Thanks for Summer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.