Poets logo

Shatterproof, I wish I was

Poem...continuing to work through...stuff.

By Paul StewartPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
17

Shatterproof

"I wish I was"

S c a t t e r e d

charred

ashes

these

wounds

are my own

Splatterproof

"If only I was"

D r i p

tainted

blood

self-inflicted

torment

Blameless

"I wish I was"

light

the fire

of

my selfish desires

acts of deception

sear my heart

the reminder

remains

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Now reverse. Name is inspired of Bulletproof I wish I was by Radiohead from The Bends.

heartbreaksurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryFree Verse
17

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat3 months ago

    Gorgeous piece, pal! Deeply moving. It worked beautifully both ways! I hope you are doing ok! Sending hugs across the pond!

  • Don't we all?

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I like it in reverse. I think as I get older I am shatterproof, more so when I was younger. I know what is important to me and what I can ignore without is bothering me. It is always a work in progress, and I need to remind myself.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This reminds me, strangely, of Hamlet’s complaint, O that this too too solid flesh would melt, thaw, and resolve itself into a dew. Of course ‘drip tainted blood’ produces a more visceral response in the reader. Nevertheless, the melancholia in the piece is reminiscent of both of Hamlet and the accusatory voice that lives in me. These are painful words, Paul. I hope that one day that both of us can rise above them.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I think we are shatterproof, it just doesn't feel it. More prone to some kind of internal decomposing collapse.

  • Test3 months ago

    Sometimes I wish I would just shatter, or spontaneously combust or something- that'd be cool. Anyway, the rawness of this is stunning and very cleverly done. Hope you're OK 🤍 Are you happy with your feature? Do you want any changes?

  • Frankie Martinelli3 months ago

    Just stunning 🥰

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Really beautiful piece of writing, I loved the rhythm you created. I think a lot of people can relate to this, too.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I like what you did here, but all I could see was Hunter Biden in the picture. Maybe it was meant to be, though.

  • Writing is therapeutic and I'm so glad you're writing this as you're working through stuff. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Well whatever you are working through, it seems like you're winning!! Turning the pain into something so breath taking!! Great work Paul!

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Now I get it! This challenge puzzled me. I feel you, my friend.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was really quite good,band I hope you find peace.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.