Poets logo

Severed Sinew

Pruning The Past

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Severed Sinew
Photo by Laura Fernandez on Unsplash

I was payed a visit

by an emotion

that overstayed its welcome

*

I've been asking

them to kindly leave

so I can finish

that part of healing

the past

*

A piece of energy

hanging on like

a 1st grader's gossamer gums

hanging onto their baby tooth

as it falls from their baby face

*

That's when I realized

I had to let go of the last

lingering piece

that keeps it hanging around

*

The part still connecting

him to me

without any

authentic connection

*

A connection that

he severed

without regard

like a man

in a slaughterhouse

hacking off

the limbs of a calf

*

Butchering

it's entire body

with an empty expression

*

His face void

of emotion as

the once living

breathing

being

bathes in a grave

of its own blood

*

Life source energy

wasted on the

cold pavement

*

To consume

the choice cuts

just to shit them out

and scrap the rest

*

The sinew around

my heart

still hung onto

my ribs

as I breathed

resting in the grave

of the gasping emotion

*

With my parang machete

I cut the last thread

and I blocked him

on Instagram

so he can't watch me

with that void look on his face

while I rebirth into someone

more beautiful than

he's never known

*

Because someone

who carelessly cut me down

watched me bleed out

and charred me in his fires

doesn't deserve to sit back

in silence

and watch me glow

in new skin

healed from the scars

*

like I'm a dynamic character

in his favorite movie

that beyond a screen

he has no relation to

*

Something he can turn

on and off

whenever he chooses

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.