Poets logo

Serenity

Peace Within. Lay Down The Weapons.

By Scarlett PricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Credit to Facebook @ BCtime photography

Sleep evades me.

My thoughts run wild.

My world in a haze.

Writing again has let everything flow like a gentle stream that is unvexed.

I’ve lost who I was along the way when my heart ran free.

See it as it be, I can’t change who I am to the core of me.

Loving me is hard, exhausting and unworthy.

Endulging in my company will bring misery and chaos.

It’s like a constant battlefield with no site of the white flag.

There is always a price to be paid when you enter my world.

When you want to be part of it or to be beside me through it.

When the core of me is hurt so deep and no one can understand, instead I appear to be crazy.

To be rash, childlike and questionable in every sense.

The more I’m hurt, the more I look crazy or like a scorned woman.

When all that is needed is space, understanding and simply caring instead of adding to the surpassable amount of anguish.

Compassion instead of conviction.

A friend instead of an executioner.

A partner instead of jester.

Prayers without hesitation.

Understanding instead of assuming.

Listening instead of deaf ears.

It’s harder to be kind.

It’s easier to be mean and hurtful.

Rise together or stay divided.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Scarlett Price

I am a mom, and a domestic violence survivor. I love writing, reading, yoga, cake decorating and baking. I recently took up belly dancing. Writing is my passion and healing. Stay positive!

https://linktr.ee/mullinscasey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.