Poets logo

Tainted

Cleanse Me

By Scarlett PricePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
@greystorm

He took what was good

Poured his toxins in me

Daylight become dark

With your lack of touch

Lack of emotions or capability to feel

With your kiss, my crimson red lips turned grey

A vibrant oxygen rich heart, deflated and black

Shades of darkness and gloom filled my veins

Killing every part that was alive

A stranger, I didn’t know who she was

His touch like poison

My words and pleas ignored

Stripped of being human

Dehumanized and degraded

I cry wolf and I’m ignored

You say I lie

You say it was on me

That I’m the monster

When I was staring at you

The wolf that loved the sheep

He came along

Using a life line from his heart to mine

Breathing life back into me

Colors flooding back

Happiness surfing

I thought I was detoxified

I was foolish

Deceived by you

You didn’t like my happiness

So you drown me all over again

This time, to strip me of joy

The master of broken promises

The master of schemes

You know my weakness

Drowning me in the ocean of your toxins

Holding my head under

Wanting me to suffer like you

You succeeded so far

The longer you hold me under

The harder I’ll fight

I’ll be free of your toxins

Your world is dark and lonely

You want me to befriend your misery

I broke free and you won’t let go

I’ll pray for you

The sun will shine and the storm will part ways

After the rain leaves

Like a new beginning

I’ll be that rainbow amongst the dark

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Scarlett Price

I am a mom, and a domestic violence survivor. I love writing, reading, yoga, cake decorating and baking. I recently took up belly dancing. Writing is my passion and healing. Stay positive!

https://linktr.ee/mullinscasey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.