Poets logo

Self pity?

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

I’ve lost track of how many days I wake up this way. Before I take my first conscious breath, I already have words on my tongue that I cannot say because you’re somewhere doing whatever it is you’re doing. Whatever it is I do, there’s always a petty string of spite that attaches itself.

I’m bored.

I want to text you, sit down with you, tell you about my stupid day, I want you to listen the way you do, validate my eyes with your eyes, go back to yours, lay down in the sticky sun and fall asleep. I want to wake up when it’s dark and put on a show, stay up and talk, thoughtlessly, effortlessly. I want to complain, and then I want to laugh, I want you to squeeze my face in frustration; easy, rolling and playing with each other’s energy.

I’m bored.

I want to text you, sit down with you and scream at you.

I want to laugh bitterly, wildly, like I’ve gone crazy. I want to watch you dance with someone else and feel wonderfully bad for myself. I want to see you walking down the side of your own street with someone new, towards your home, but the home I made for me. The routine I dangled in every other day, the countertops that hold my fingerprints, the fucking pieces of my DNA and soul that accidentally fell on your carpet, my fucking earrings, I probably dropped one, your vacuum probably sucked it up.

I fantasize about angry conversations that will never happen.

I fantasize about walking away and walking away and walking away and walking away again and again and again and again, because I’m sinking with the words I don’t get to say.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.