Poets logo

Seeds of Dandelions

A poem about marching to the beat of my own drum. 🧚🏻‍♀️

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
14
Photo courtesy of Shutterstock

I forget which way today sails


on this ship across the sky.


Walking home, I took my own trail


and no one ever asked me why.


Do you wonder?

What it could be like


on the other side -


over and under all the roses?


Beyond the starry gate,


your true calling awaits -


say goodbye to keeping up with


the Joneses.

*


Today I make my own magic,

and like a habit I

imagine…

what you and I could be

if we…

were free of keeping up with the

Kardashians.

I didn’t mean to be,

but I just happened

and I harnessed serendipity;

dreaming we were free

just like the

*seeds of dandelions*.

*

And I forget which note my heart sings

in this buzzing hive of bees.

All alone, I struck my own strings

and no one caught me humming way off key;

Do you wonder?


What it could be like

on the other side -


over and under all the blue skies?


Beyond the picket fence,


free of all this pretense -


say goodbye to keeping up with all

their life lies.

*

Today I’m making my own marvels,

and between sparkles I

*envision*

what you and I could be

if we…

were free of keeping up with such

precision.

It wasn’t my decision,

but somehow, I'm

enlightened...

and in serendipity

I dreamed that we

were free (just like the)

*seeds of dandelions*.

*

I forget which way the Earth spins

on this ride around the sun.

Amid the crowds, I grew my own skin

and the world went on (and on!) and spun.

Do you wonder?

What it could be like

on the other side –

over and under all the rainbows?

Beyond their secrets

if you can see it;

you’re free to choose how bright

your life glows.

*

Today I’m making my own beauty,

and *true to me* I’ve

carved and chiseled sculptures

of how lovely we would be

if we…

were free of worshiping

*star culture*.

And from my shoulders

I have lightened

the weight of

*trend affinity*...

I've dreamt and brought to life

a life in

which our souls are heightened

and are free...

and I didn't mean for it to happen

(but it)

*happened*

in a fashion just like

serendipity...

and now you and I

are in the sky

and happily..

flap in the horizon,

just like the puffs

just like the fluffs

just like the

*seeds of dandelions*.

*

And I forget which vibe my soul craves

in this world lost out in space.

Looking back, I’ve made my own waves

and no one dares to frown their face.

Do you wonder?

What it could be like

on the other side –

over and under all they

take their silly pride in?

Beyond their circus

you can find your *shining purpose*;

flying freely

(just like the)

seeds of dandelions.

-📝🧚🏻‍♀️Gina C.

**********************************************************************

This poem is about being true to yourself and not worrying about what others think of you.

I consider my poems to be uplifting and I do my best to incorporate inspirational messages into them. ❤️

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this inspirational poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

inspirational
14

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Be real, be true, be YOU! Absolutely loved this uplifting, inspiring, beautifully written poem! You are magic!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    You poetry is always so gorgeous. Very well done.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great work! All of your poems ring with such truth!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Beautiful truths.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I forget which way the Earth spins on this ride around the sun. Amid the crowds, I grew my own skin and the world went on (and on!) and spun. This part was my favorite as I see this as very inspiring to be yourself and be happy in your own skin. Hearted! Very lonely tones here

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved this so much. Parts reminded me of Wizard of Oz and Dorothy singing 'Somewhere over the Rainbow'. You are so incredibly talented, my friend :)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Wow this poem is fabulous. Love the title which will resonate with me everything I see a dandelion now. Just so many beautiful lines about staying true to your soul. ❤️

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    So gorgeous! :)

  • It's always great to appreciate ourselves, we are usually our own worst critics, but we should really be our own best lovers

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful! I definitely relate to the feeling of never quite meaning to fall into the trap of comparison, but sometimes ending up there anyways. Especially with social media, it can be hard not to compare our own "behind the scenes" with others' "highlight reels." This poem is a beautiful, refreshing reminder of the freedom in letting go of comparison and embracing your own journey. I especially love the lines, "And I forget which vibe my soul craves... in this world lost out in space." Gorgeous!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.