Poets logo

Sea Glass

A love poem unlikely to ever be read by the muse...

By An Unlocked KeyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

late night thoughts led me to sea glass

and sea glass led me to you

you’ve been worn down

and you continue to be

but it polishes you

you’ve decided to use it in a way that betters you

I worry you’ll spend too much time in the sea

never returning to the beach to be collected and treasured

but staying in what can often be violent waves

that strike at the miniscule cracks I can’t see

I don’t want to watch you become me

I don’t want to see you break

I don’t want you to bear that weight

you have a strong but soft heart

you have an unmatched patience and understanding with me

although that’s not to say you don’t have an edge to you though

it’s a good mix

one I’m compatible with

one that would get us both into trouble with the way our mouthes are

the way we met was odd

so I never expected this to go far

but here we are

on a plane of trust few ever reach

you’re kind and caring but I have to admit…

it’s off putting

I’m sure you’ve picked up on that

but I’m trying not to run

and appreciate the understanding even if you’re lacking information

my past hasn't treated me kindly

but you have been one of the kindest people I've ever interacted with

more importantly one of the safest

I hope I don’t tell you much about my life experiences

but at the same time I’ve never felt such a draw to someone

I actually want to share... but

there's no happy start

no happy present

and no happy future

I don't want to place more weight on your shoulders

I don't want to keep you up at night with the horrors of my life

and I hope

I truly hope

that you haven't experienced what I have and that you never will

it’s late and you have me held close

I can hear your heartbeat

and I’m stealing your warmth

I feel safe and you do too

there’s a gentleness that you exude

Sea Glass, I love you

love poems
3

About the Creator

An Unlocked Key

Key

They/Them

(support my Black, queer, disabled self by giving my stuff a read)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.