Poets logo

Fog

the fog is creeping in…

By An Unlocked KeyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’M FORGETTING NAMES AND FACES

I’M LOSING TRACK OF TIME

MY DAYS ARE NUMBERED

I CAN FEEL THE FOG IS CREEPING IN

EACH TIME RETREATING LESS

WHAT LITTLE I REMEMBER IS SLIPPING AWAY

AND THE NEW DOESN’T STAY

I WANT THE LIGHT BACK ON IN MY BRAIN

I WANT TO THINK WITHOUT MY THOUGHTS BEING SLOWED BY PAIN AND EXHAUSTION

I WANT TO REMEMBER WITHOUT PROMPTING

I WANT TO LIVE THE LIFE I DESERVE TO HAVE

I WANT MY MIND AND BODY BACK

I DON’T WANT THE DAY TO COME WHERE I REMEMBER NOTHING AND NO ONE

I DON’T WANT TO WITHER AWAY

BUT I CAN FEEL THE FOG SURROUNDING ME

AND I KNOW I’LL SLIP AWAY…

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

An Unlocked Key

Key

They/Them

(support my Black, queer, disabled self by giving my stuff a read)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.