Poets logo

Screaming Flowers

Can Anyone Hear?

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
54
photo by Zoe Schaeffer on Unsplash

Screaming flowers

An eyesore in these days, but a style of the times

In the wallpapered kitchen, with ugly yellow trim

A vision of childhood, with love, light and laughter

When her view of the world, was a little less grim

*

Screaming flowers

On the boulevard dry, in the hot summer sun

As they wither near death, so helpless, ignored

Begging Mother Nature for drops of sky nectar

To refresh and recharge, their lifeblood restored

*

Screaming flowers

In the hands of the bridesmaid, as she stands by her side

To witness the ceremony, she knows a mistake

But quiet she must be and fulfill her sworn duty

And stay by her side, when her heart surely breaks

*

Screaming flowers

On the stand in the nursery, where her new baby cries

For his mother’s embrace, to sooth infantile needs

Depression controls her, and delays her response

She cries out in anguish. God help me, she pleads

*

Screaming flowers

On the dining room cabinet, a blood red expression

Yet another apology for harsh words and hands

Their scornful petals mockingly watching

As she faithfully follows her oppressor’s commands

*

Screaming flowers

In the church on the altar with urn full of ashes

Leaving nothing but memories and death so unkind

Ripped from the soil for a fragrant memorial

Their stems now as broken as the hearts left behind

*

When the flowers don’t make a sound

Can anyone hear them scream?

🌻🌼🌷⚘

sad poetry
54

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    There's a lot to unpack and ponder in this one. Well done!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Cathy, this was a really thought provoking poem for me! The universal symbolism of what flowers means and the contexts they get to be a part of! Great work!

  • I must have read this way back when they didn't have comments yet. This is one of my most favourite poems of yours! I enjoyed the reread!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Love this! I truly don’t understand why we use bouquets of flowers for so many things, from courtship and marriage to birth and death to “congrats” and “I’m sorry.” It’s a strange custom to me. I bet the flowers don’t understand it either, and do silently scream. Give me a garden of live, unpicked flowers over that!

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Dang! I'm glad you reshared this! What a stunning way to look at this. Cathy, you never cease to amaze me!!

  • Julia Schulz10 months ago

    Bravo!!! Bravo!!!!

  • This is one I missed and I think the title is brilliant, sort of gives me ideas and made me think of the band Screaming Trees who I should do a post on. Excellent work

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    ☺️👍 Cathy, I really liked your intriguing concept of the flowers personified for this poem. Thanks for sharing it again as I had missed it.

  • Lovely piece of work 📝💖😉🌸❗

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    This is so vivid and emotional. My mind was full of detailed images and my heart was touched and ached a little over the words -- amazing job, my friend!! I really love this 😍

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Wow, so many emotions packed in these beautiful lines. The last two lines really got me. Well done :)

  • Sending hugs for this Cathy , wonderful words

  • Absolutely fantastic Cathy.

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    I love *everything* about this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.