Poets logo

sausages (an ode)

Blame Hannah, maybe?

By Paul StewartPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Created by me with Dall-E through ChatGPT

sausages

we all love them

even vegans

sausages

never enough

even vegans love them

times I've heard

the word

sausages

without

mustering up

some kind of

laugh

are zilch

nada, zero

Even vegans

love

the sound of the word

feel of the meat

inside of their mouth

if they say

they don't

they're lying

who doesn't love

a sausage in a bun

a sausage with mash

a sausage covered with

fried onions

gravy

toad in the hole

yes, toad

not sausage

in the hole

where it goes

a sausage in the mouth

fleshy savoury

torpedoes of pork,

cylinders of beef and whatever

abominations, really

but, tasty all the same

okay, maybe not vegans

not all anyway

some call them bangers

hot dogs, chipolatas

you need at least 10

tiny little sausages

pigs in blankets

toads wrapped in a bacon blanket

Bratwurst, Chorizo, Salami

Kielbasa, Andouille, Boereworst

maybe two

phallic-shaped

going to make you laugh

that's why we love

sausages

just don't ask what's in them

*

Thank you for reading!

Author's Notes: Kinda took inspiration from Hannah Moore's delightful entry, named Vileous and Virtuous Vocables, into my recent challenge, in which she mentioned sausages. So, I don't now...blame her?

For more flesh, but less sausage:

For less flesh, less sausage:

You can also take a look at my profile for the rest of my work here.

vintagesurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryOdelove poemsinspirationalhumorGratitudeFree VerseFor Funfact or fictionBalladart
5

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    This reminds me of the old riddle: "What's long & hard & full of seamen? A submarine."

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    hahahahahahahahaha! What is there to say? "torpedoes of pork" Fekin' hilarious, pal!

  • I gotta get my mind out of the gutter 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 But unless you're actually talking about the food kind sausage, I've been a vegetarian for the past 13 years and I didn't even like sausages even before I was a vegetarian, lol. But I like the vegan sausages because they don't taste like the real ones hahahaha. Loved your poem! 🍩🥐

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    I just had breakfast sausages yesterday. 😋 Yummy, delightful poem, my friend!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Torpedoes of pork! My partner is a vegan of over 25 years and has no apparent yearning for sausage. Vegan or otherwise. He does enjoy the word though.

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    Now i am hungry. i thought bacon was the gateway meat for vegans. Now I am educated: it is sausages

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.