Poets logo

Sandcastle dream

For Poppy's Prompt

By The Invisible WriterPublished 3 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
41
Sandcastle dream
Photo by Fermin Rodriguez Penelas on Unsplash

The graves of my heart, are dug deep, into the soil of my soul

On a shore far away, from my dark places, where I send postcards

To a better life, dancing on the horizon, of a dream inside my mind

Ocean waves lap grains, of broken sea shells, carried from coral reefs

Tall broad-leaved trees, stand guard, where the beach turns to forest

~

In this dream, I sit as a child building a sandcastle, below a sunlit blue

Full of innocence, still believing life is safe, unaware of the earthquakes

Waiting in the days ahead, when storm clouds would bring rain

When sirens would ring, and fires would burn out of control

When a rising sun, would lift cold and lonely, across a blood-colored sky

And beams of moonlight, would fall through wind chimes, in quiet songs

~

Outside of the dream, I lay awake in the night, thinking of different ways

To find guilt, to pass sentence, on every good intention that went wrong

In the morning, I will sand the wood of my past smooth, and shape it

Into a boat, to sail across the sea inside my mind, to find the child

On the shore, building a sandcastle in the warmth of long ago days, I lost

~

When my boat lands on the shore, and my feet take purchase on the sand

I'll go to the child, waiting for me, I'll let his brown eyes see mine

And watch, as he doesn't understand, the hurt swimming in his reflection

I'll sit with him, while the waves crash in, and the breeze stirs salt air

Together, we'll build his castle of sand, until the last tower is in place

Then I'll stand, and brush away the sand, before I return to the boat

Still not having spoken

~

Before I go, I'll look over my shoulder, at the child I'm leaving

Words will finally, slip past my lips, as I push the boat into the wide ocean

The tide will move against the shore, and I will tell this child, I used to be

It will all be alright, it won't always seem that way, but it will

Storms will come, and they will pass, and when they've gone

The sky will clear, but the memory, of the wind blowing

And the rain pouring will stay, even after the sky opens

And your rainbow appears again, the storm will stay with you

Free Verse
41

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Hi-i - So touching: I always seem to relate to you. Thank you for your always lovely compliments. When you get a chance I'd like to introduce you to my Brother - "Twins" in Humor - You may relate it - j.in.l.a

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    "The graves of my heart, are dug deep, into the soil of my soul" "Storms will come, and they will pass, and when they've gone The sky will clear..." A beautiful beginning and an equally beautiful closure.

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Your poem has been fed through the AI for a new interpretation and passed as a new story here: https://vocal.media/poets/echoes-of-redemption-a-journey-through-the-sands-of-time. I have already reported it and so should you.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on TS!πŸ₯³

  • Sian N. Clutton2 months ago

    Very moving!

  • Throw it in the trash?!! What, it was wonderful. Congrats on the top story

  • Joshua Hess2 months ago

    Beautiful

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    WELL DESERVED Top Story!!!!!!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Congratulations on Top StoryπŸ†πŸ“£β­οΈ

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    So sad 😒 Thank you ❀️ Congratulations on top story πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Congratulations on Top Story… well deserved!

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    This is so so sweet and gorgeously written. I love the premise of the poem but also how masterfully you carried it out. "beams of moonlight, would fall through wind chimes, in quiet songs" That is a lovely line. "In the morning, I will sand the wood of my past smooth, and shape it Into a boat, to sail across the sea inside my mind, to find the child On the shore, building a sandcastle in the warmth of long ago days, I lost" This might be my favourite part. The language used is so lovely. But the scenario that plays out after it is also amazing and so bittersweet. A beautiful beautiful poem!

  • Congratulations on your top story 🌹

  • I felt your feelings, great free verse

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    If any poem could make me cry, this one did. This is beautiful, a real tear-jerker and I have no words left to describe it.

  • Holly Pheni2 months ago

    This is truly gorgeous. I love the last line -- "Your rainbow appears again, the storm will stay with you." Very powerful.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Will this was so beautiful! I love the imagery and nostalgic sort of feel to it!! Very well thought out and written!! Great work and congrats on Top Story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer2 months ago

    Back to say congrats!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Great work! And congrats on top story!

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    first, congratulations on your TS. now, this is excellent. looking back and forward at the same time.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Yay. Congrats on the TS.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Excellent!

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    Such beautiiful imagary and loved the gentlness of this one, kind of bitter sweet nosalgia x Really lovely 🀍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.