Poets logo

Sanctuary

No

By Cathy holmesPublished 7 months ago β€’ Updated 7 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
69
Photo by Trevor McKinnon on Unspash

I offered you sanctuary.

You treated it like a cheap motel.

Spent your days snorting lines of arrogance,

and downing shots of empty promises.

Promises you offered to me,

with shaking hands, in muddied glasses.

And when you walked away,

there was nothing but the echo of your callous laughter,

and no tip for my tears, who were charged with cleaning up the mess you left behind.

*

I offered you a harbour.

A safe place to ride out the storms that crashed through your mind

and flooded your heart with anger.

I gave you a life preserver,

but you tossed it aside

and dragged me into the cold abyss with you.

Kicking and screaming; drowning in your words

until I managed to wrench myself free,

and grab on to that precious life preserver.

*

I offered you peace.

But instead, you chose war.

With chest-puffed bravado, standing on your battlefield.

Screaming boisterously about how powerful you are,

how indestructible you are,

how nobody could take you down.

But when the bullets flew,

when your world of make-believe bravado exploded

like grenades tossed into the foxhole,

you cowered behind my heart and begged for mercy.

You pleaded for sanctuary.

*

So today, once again, I offer that sanctuary.

Sanctuary for the abandoned.

Sanctuary for the defeated,

for the used, the neglected and the utterly exhausted.

Today, I offer sanctuary,

to me.

From you.

performance poetry
69

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (55)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Those last lines hit so hard! Outstanding work

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Stunning and powerful! 😍

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    Man! That was a mix of emotions that hit home! GREAT poem!!

  • Windchime7 months ago

    Love it...

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Wow this is so powerful Cathy!! I love the last few lines "I offer sanctuary to me from you"... took my breath away and was so inspiring! Great work and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Luther7 months ago

    Nice work I loved it β€οΈπŸ€— I hope my stories get to the top one day πŸ˜ͺπŸ’”

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Beautiful. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Well said πŸ’– Congrats on TS

  • A well-deserved Top Story, Cathy! I especially loved these lines: β€œsnorting lines of arrogance, and downing shots of empty promises.” What a powerfully vivid description!

  • Yayyyyyy you got a Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Joelle EπŸŒ™7 months ago

    Cathy, this is amazing!! You are sooo talented. Every metaphor was on-point. I couldnt stop reading. Great job πŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Nice nice work. Congratulations

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Wow, you've been through something here... TS? Yup. πŸ…

  • Melissa Ingoldsby7 months ago

    Amazing analogies and metaphors, brilliant Work and very relatable

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem! Well deserved top story!

  • Mescaline Brisset7 months ago

    This reminds me of someone too… Terrific coda… And congratulations on the Top Story!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Great words, strong and defiant

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    This felt confrontational and liberating. Well done and congrats, Cathy!

  • Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽŠπŸ’•πŸ€©πŸŽ‰πŸ€

  • Arbab7 months ago

    wonderful

  • The Dani Writer7 months ago

    A powerful message poem! Congratulations on this featured top story!

  • Sugan Ya 7 months ago

    Wow... beautiful narration...I love it ! Congrats on top story ...

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    Beautiful and so, so powerful, my friend! Congrats on Top Story!! πŸ€—β€οΈβ€οΈ So many amazing lines in here. πŸ₯Ή

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Congrats on the Top Story, Cathy!❀️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.