Poets logo

San Juan

Puerto Rico

By Anna cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
San Juan
Photo by Alex George on Unsplash

Cobblestone Streets and houses very old

In beautiful french colors so bold

Line the streets with small sidewalks

So very little you needn’t notice them in the dark.

Five hundred years of culture and tradition

One hundred years of expression and celebration.

San Juan, San Juan your city speaks

To tell us of its many peaks

Of stories of persons and events long gone

Which tell us of many different cultures that belong

Sometimes I close my eyes and I can imagine what it was like a century ago

Spanish-style houses remind me of Florida’s Key Largo.

Horse-drawn buggies and carts I was told.

Of dreamy dresses of red and gold.

Styles which remain with us from Spain.

As the traditional handheld “abanicos” are elaborate or plain.

Making lace in the traditional Spanish pattern was reborn.

A cultural ideal must not be torn.

A beautiful end to a street overlooking the cemetery.

A bell at the top along with the old “capetillo” seems so elementary.

That all would be built within a distance of each other.

Saves the tourists all of the walks and bother.

San Juan stay as breathless and beautiful as you are

Keep our streets up to par.

Remain as quaint and full of charm.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Anna cruz

I like writing short stories and poetry. I like to blog about thrifting and many other subjects. I hope you enjoy my writing. Read my blog at www.savingshouse.blogspot.com and visit my website at www.vintageoldtreasures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.