Poets logo

Sad & Happy Musings, on one sunny side morning

Something for the early sunny mornings: You have the morning to yourself, what does that feel like? A prompt response for Queer Vocal Voices' April Prompts

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 28 days ago 2 min read
8
Sad & Happy Musings, on one sunny side morning
Photo by Jasmin Egger on Unsplash

I would start with a busted, busted egg yolk. Creamy, nutty, smooth, silky. The silence of the blistered yellow on top of the smoky white, would be like the most celestial part of heaven in my mouth. Carmelized pork; such as hot butter with the crisp of Canadian bacon. Toasted English muffin. Hot coffee with half and half. Homemade waffles with blackberry jam& butter.

So, I'd watch Lars Von Trier's blowjob train scene in Nymphomaniac part one as I ate the broken egg yolk and start an angry poem. Then, I would erase it, and start again. I would remember the dream I had which brought me to the most somber tears. My ex boyfriend dying and I could not save him. I was extremely sad. Tears fell without effort.

But, my house is full of children and laughter and fussiness. That silent morning is cut like my special egg yolk and a dash of hot sauce, yellowing up my loudness with a wanting that I cannot recreate in my writing. The wanting is so important. So deep. Like a visercal hole in your face that only you feel and see.

Like how the blow job scene in Nymphomaniac part one can give me gender envy yet passion for a scene in my head.

Is the cracked shell a lot like my dysphoria? Is the trauma I've been dealt much like the white part of the egg, never moving and burning if left to long on the griddle? What should I write about if I had this perfect morning all to myself?

What! Why! When! How! Who!

The dangers of an idle, sad, strangely content mind. I remember my story about the nuclear blast and the Shepard’s pie. I want to continue writing about thw relationship that David and Robin have, but at the same time, I must be working toward something good—-especially if trauma is healing.

Tea with milk sounds like a good afternoon starter.

What can I write? I can write about a lost friend that hurt me deeply with silence, even if I can still be able to talk nicely to them, it really hurts because I'm really nothing to them. A painful memory of childhood that I can recreate in a metaphor. I can write about the zombie love of Bexley & Stan. The zombie messy love of Hudson & Ash. The dark romance of Edward & John.

Why do you write so many queer relationships? That isn't realistic.

I hear others Say & in my mind.

i spend all morning editing Carnivorous

Eating me alive inside

I eat myself alive

I break more yolks

It's a yellow memory after all
Bright, cheerful Summer Sunlight still makes me sad.

I long to wrap my arms around sad

And blow blue into the night

And sink into the stars with broken yellow

And cut away from the pain in my body that deepens like an indented marble statue

Unfinished like how you said goodbye so eagerly

So softly like a lullaby .

slam poetrysocial commentaryMental Health
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm25 days ago

    This is such a cool piece and well-written - all these images and feelings swirling around. Loved it! While I haven’t seen the referenced movie I know of Trier and the film and found this such a funny way to wake up in the morning! 👍🙂

  • Whoaaaa, this was so intense and poignant! I loved how you mentioned Bexley, Stan, Asher, Hudson, Edward and John! This my was favourites part, "Is the cracked shell a lot like my dysphoria? Is the trauma I've been dealt much like the white part of the egg, never moving and burning if left to long on the griddle?"

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    I really appreciate and love the positive vibes of your story amazing

  • Cathy holmes28 days ago

    The melancholy is palpable here. My fave lines are the ones Oneg already highlighted, so I won't copy again. Beautifully written.

  • Babs Iverson28 days ago

    Sending positive vibes and virtual hugs!!! Outstanding lines and especially love the last line!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Shatter me to piece is how you would spend your morning I see. "I long to wrap my arms around sad And blow blue into the night And sink into the stars with broken yellow And cut away from the pain in my body that deepens like an indented marble statue Unfinished like how you said goodbye so eagerly So softly like a lullaby ." Ugh.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.