Poets logo

Love poem #001

-loosely based on The Favourite by my favorite director Yorgos Lanthimos

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
Love poem #001
Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

I want to sink into your raven brown

body, I’m wax to your wick

I want to light you up all night long and all day

I sink into your glory, I sink like a drowning fish in the open air

Tainted by the shore and the water so close, my salvation so close

But yet, I am still too far

I’ll be saved from the dark love of your obsession

He took you from me

Even before we met, he took you from me

Yes, the placeholder for a sentimental moment

Captured in a nonsensical tyrant

I am hopelessly lost and jealous and angry

I hate how much I feel this anger

As your indifferent friendliness is what make toxic tones in my anger

Knowing that I was a jape

Yes, a jape

Hurray to your jape

Enjoy the damn joke as I sink into your mouth, soaking up all the sugar to keep you warm

It’s funny you will say it’s not a joke, and so serious yet the trademark of a true tragedy has comedy on its other side

I hate my stomach when it pulls up the words I keep hidden inside

I don’t want to feel this, but you managed to make me feel this way too late

Love is a sick joke

Humans like to play games with hearts

Love poem #001

If I were your man,

I’d fucking ravish you

Let him know in your secret ear

That I was there too

In a fantasy setting that was never to be

Japes should talk like chess pieces cry when they fall.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • ANFASabout a month ago

    beautiful

  • Sounds like an impractical joke to me, for all practical intents & purposes.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Love is definitely a sick joke. So sad. So poem was so intense and I freaking love it!

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    Not bad. You can wax my wick anytime you like! 😏

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Very passionate poem. It could also be an April ‘s fool day poem. Happy Easter.🐣

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Love the images in this piece. Can see it all unfolding and coming apart in perfect disarray. Crunchy and angsty. Also love the use of jape. Great word, jape. (There used to be a band I loved by that name, so a flood of unrelated songs and memories just spilled all over my brain scape.) I also loved, "I’m wax to your wick" and all of its intended implications. So melty delicious. If you're inclined, you might read my piece, The Great Barrier. It is not the same set of relationships or feelings, but your mention of a fish without water brings it to mind. https://vocal.media/poets/the-great-barrier

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.