Poets logo

Ruins

A sestina

By Lenora VincentPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I visited the ruins today,

To reminisce about the past.

There I sat and thought,

Remembering an age long gone

And felt tremendous sorrow

For time has eroded those moments.

What memories and forgotten moments

Remain hidden from the eyes of today?

I look back on them with sorrow,

Knowing it all hides in the past.

Those days are forever gone,

Revisited only in thought.

I found myself lost in thought,

Forgetting for a few moments

That those days with you are gone.

I was forced back into today,

Facing the ruins of our past.

Nothing remains but sorrow.

I’m overwhelmed with sorrow,

For up ‘til now I had thought

I left this pain in the past.

But those treasured moments

Linger here today,

Reminding me that you’re gone.

This pain was never gone;

The longing, the sorrow.

The broken ruins here today

Exist only in my thoughts,

Made of memory and moments,

A monument to the past.

I’ve been trapped in the past,

Pretending you aren’t gone.

I cling to memories and moments.

Time has not yet healed my sorrow.

It’s present in every thought,

Casting a shadow on today.

It’s time to live in the moments of today.

You’re gone, but always in my thoughts

As I leave these ruins of past and sorrow.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lenora Vincent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.