Poets logo

Romance

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Bella Baxter from my new favorite movie Poor Things

every day, a romance starts in a wound

As my lover calls it,

A wound that swallows and burns and suffocates

It holds a small hole that fills like a leech filling up with blood

It drops like a starving river full of angry red fish

Tiny jagged teeth and eyes like a poorly cut up cantaloupe

Looping around a fish hook with no bait

every day, a romance starts in a wound

As my lover calls it,

The hole goes deeper into my brain

The euphoria mixes with utter desperation, the feeling of fear wrapped into hope

every day, a romance starts in a wound

As my lover calls it

I wrap my arms and legs around the wound

A small crying boy

A small wounded girl

A few years backed in a good minute

A lifetime of playing the game until your body gives out from exhaustion

every day, a romance starts in a wound

As my lover calls it,

Fellatio the entire world like a voracious animal

Never getting enough

Yet filling up like a balloon full of sensory overload

every day, a romance starts in a wound

As my lover calls it,

The greed of this world trapped in my mouth

So hungry to feel it’s sadness

Was that the way it felt, my love

When you trapped yourself in the wound of my romance?

every day, a romance starts in a wound.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    How synchronistic that I happen upon this after fitting Gibran's little axiom, which I hold sacred, into my latest: “Poetry is not an opinion expressed. It is a song that rises from a bleeding wound or a smiling mouth.” -Kahlil Gibran, Sand & Foam Well-wrought, Melissa!

  • "Yet filling up like a balloon full of sensory overload" Oh wow, that line was so freaking phenomenal! Loved your poem Merly!

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    Very nice!

  • That's about as perfectly evocative a description of romance as I've ever read, Melissa.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I relate to the wounds of love; your poetry is insatiably haunting.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    This rocks...and I am determined to see this film soon!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.