Poets logo

Lovely lovely lonely

—India prologue of my sequel to I am Bexley.

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
7
Lovely lovely lonely
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

My father tells me I’m lovely. I’m lovely and I’m special. I’ll be the first Eve in the new era of this zombie infested world. I am wounded every single time he calls me lovely. I am a Bloodletter. A despised mutated kind that humans and zombies run away from. We terrorize, we destroy. Inside, I am wrecked.

I don’t understand lovely. He tells me my Adam will be my pairing, the same as me. But I know not that type of cruelty. My “Adam” does not exist in my heart, only as a massive boulder keeping me from being myself.

I am more than lovely.

Struck in the undead gut, I saw a sparkle of elegant sun

My Emma.

We have given each other the fire necessary to create a lasting “lovely”

Her beautiful black hair and deeply warm brown skin

When pressed with my aching dead cells

Gives me the impression of a clockwork

I’m ticking against your beating

Away into the madness of lovely

The darkest, most powerful sense of lovely

I found the lonely enclosed like a finely tuned funnel

A tornado as Emma explained

So forceful and unforgiving

“You’re my lovely Eve,” My father, Warren signed with weak hands,

His eye sight almost as dead as me.

We had roamed the plains and rivers and caves

Searching for a belonging that spat us out like bad blood from a rotten corpse

Never reanimated

Only putrified

I felt as though I was bad meat,

Never as lovely as Adam and Eve in the eyes of father

Never so lonely as I felt ever before

Here with my eye-catching firefly Emma

We search for the safety in the dark locust infested storms

I remember being called lovely in the dark

Now I know lovely is lonely and I am

“India, my love, my only,”

Emma tells me without even a word

And I fly so high

No longer trapped like a helpless beast

The trappings of lovely all stripped away.

“Time for a new adventure,” Emma says in a whimsical tone. Her tweeting, twinkling light brown eyes look fierce yet so sad.

I stand up. I’m ready to fight for us all.

excerpts
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Awww, this was so SO sweet! Emma and India forever 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • An excellent prologue, Melissa.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I really enjoyed how you opened with this, then go into verse. The whole time telling of a story that is strong on its own.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Longing and love well expressed. Well done, Melissa!

  • This is oddly beautiful Melissa. I love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.