Poets logo

Ritual

A Poem

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Sebastian Dark on Unsplash

Today is one of those days

Where I must force myself to

Remember

Who I really am

And what makes up my

Soul and my

Core.

Take away the make-up which is my mask

Strip me of the clothes and leave me

Raw and naked.

Shave my hair so I can't hide behind it.

What is left?

Not the idea of me

But the real me.

Dismiss my multiple names

And my several personalities

And watch the truest elements of me squirm around like

New-born babies.

There is desire;

For pride, admiration and warmth.

There is love;

For myself, friendships and the universe.

There are scars;

White lines, and the ones deeper than skin.

But despite all of these things, I add them up and wear them like armour.

Though I may fall

And seem so small and fickle

My core will always stay the same

So a note to me;

Girl, just enjoy life a little.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.