Poets logo

Rio de Janeiro

Dum vita est spes est

By Penelope JanePublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Rio de Janeiro
Photo by Jordan McDonald on Unsplash

In life, I fear the water

They call it

Thalassophobia

Because we name all things and they become real

Like the beings below

Schrödinger's Squid

But

It is in your dreams

I pull you to the surface

In life, you fear heights

Acrophobia

As if we needed a name for that

It is not the creatures below, rather

The space in between and

The ground

So permanent and unyielding

It is in my dreams

You leap from the cliff,

Forcing me to fly

I'm scared

I hear it come from me

Though my heart has never feared the empty space

Though I seek the tallest buildings, the tallest mountains

To gaze from

The top

Such a wonderful place

Such a wonderful thing to feel

Small

In life

Though in my dreams I am safer to fall

Farther, Harder

Than anything redeemable

In life

In my dreams

I'm scared

Of the long way down

The wings above inspire no confidence

More than the wings of slumber

The wings found in life too,

Few ever wear

Though many dream of doing so

Pink, red, orange

Yellow

Green, blue, purple

Surely they cannot

Will not

Hold me up

Surely I cannot be saved

Surely

The wind will not carry me

It will be okay

I hear you say

Okay

Then you jump

In my dream

Where you do not fear heights

And I am held

I am carried

And we fly

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Penelope Jane

come to the dark side with me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Gosh this was so profound and the ending was so liberating! Loved your poem!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    First off, your picture was perfect. I fell into the flow of your words, you made fears sound beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.