Poets logo

Revival

When my husband revived my son

By Eileen DavisPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
My son ready to leave the hospital after his four day recovery (Photo by husband)

Child of mine, let spirit, body entwine

Pass not through, but rise from dust

Resurrect Lazarus; thy will not mine

Count one and two, Partner of mine

Pray between each hand thrust

Restart his heart; upset his flatline

Compress his chest, straighten spine

Pump blood through limbs; nerves combust

Renew his corpse, exhume from shrine

Come let him be one of ninety-nine

Prepare us, if not; let us trust

Resurrect Lazarus; thy will not mine

Child of mine, let body, spirit entwine

Provoke your soul, you must

Revive, return to life's design

Circulation restores; lungs incline

Pupils constrict; his coughs robust

Child of mine, now spirit, body entwine

Resurrected Lazarus; our wills align

I have tried to write this poem for four years, though I have written several blog posts about my PTSD after. I wonder why my son lived, while other children have died. I have much to be grateful for.

GratitudeVillanelleFamily
2

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I'm so glad your son is okay and grateful he is alive. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.