Poets logo

A Parent's Plea

I begged the heavens I'd survive this child

By Eileen DavisPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
A Parent's Plea
Photo by Katherine Chase on Unsplash

Let me not give my son scars for life

Let my yells not cause him greater strife

Let all critiques not bruise his tender ego

Let the sarcasm not color my tone

Let him survive my folly as I am surely human

BUT,

Remember me, let me bear no scars

Let his yells not burst my eardrums to the stars

Let his critiques not bruise my spirit much

Let his sarcasm not color my touch

Hold my vomit as his vomit lands on me

Pinch my nose while I change his poopy

Protect my back as I carry him up the stairs

Muffle his cries within my ears

When my son breaks glass on the floor

Let not my feet tread on the shards

When my son pours applesauce on the table

Let my tongue not bleed as I bite it hard

When my son hits his brother

And when they name-call each other

Lower my blood pressure

Stop my head from banging like a thresher

When my son punches a hole in the wall

Let my tears not burn as I bawl

When my son burns money through my pockets

Let my eyes remain in their sockets

Let me survive his folly as he is surely human

Please,

Let me praise him, reward him, reinforce his good deeds

Let my corrections be gentle and what he needs

Let me bring him smiles as I kiss his cheek

Let my arms catch him when he is weak

Yes, Lord,

Let us survive each other’s follies as we are surely human

If you want to read more about mom life, you can subscribe on Vocal or follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Medium, or my personal blog. This mom appreciates tips or pledges too. Thank you!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)about a year ago

    I felt this ❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.