Poets logo

Restless

gone a-rambling in free verse

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
7
image generated by author using Midjourney

I pored over the map, laid flat

before me, like some autocrat

*

plotting his next military adventure.

My voice husky from lack of sleep

*

and overindulgence in coffee,

I looked to my trusty companion

*

who too mused over the lines

and contours before us.

*

All of it is a ruse, really.

The schemes of men grown

*

beyond the age of mindless

road trips and other such

*

shenanigans. Inferring

some theme, an excuse

*

to push on, to transfer

this gnawing urge to meander

*

into concrete action.

Somewhere. Anywhere.

*

It mattered little

where we went.

*

Only that we could explain ourselves

when we returned home.

Free Verse
7

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    "...into concrete action." Such a sneaky little line. Great.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    This reminded me of "One Day" a British series based on a novel where the male lead is so restless and on an infinite quest. I was like that when young also. Really well done!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Incredible work! Keep it up!😊

  • to push on, to transfer this gnawing urge to meander I loved these lines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.