Poets logo

Resilient

Fibro Chronicles

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
29

It mysteriously appeared at age 25, 23 years ago to be exact...

Like the ghost of Christmas present, a present that nobody wanted...

Not many can see it and those who can don't care to...

It nips at my heel day and night like a fussy toddler that never gets enough attention...

It intentionally blasts loud heavy metal music in my ear 24/7 while I'm trying to sleep...

When it knows better than anyone, other than momma, that I really like '90s R & B...

It is the epitome of inconsiderate...

It uses my vehicle every morning without my permission...

And never leaves any gas in my tank at the end of the night...

It doesn't know the meaning of tenderness...

When we interact, it makes me feel as if I've been burned from head to toe with a lit cigarette...

It's name is Fibromyalgia…

But what it doesn't know is that I am the resilient kind...

Despite Fibromyalgia's constant shenanigans I still manage to adapt and thrive...

Armed with willpower, tenacity, pacing, and self care, I still manage to caregive...

I still write compelling material...

I still create exquisite artwork...

I still nurture loved ones...

I still enjoy reading exciting fiction...

I still learn something new every day...

And most importantly, I still

have the ability to fulfill my

calling: to be of counsel and

comfort to those in need...

For I am the captain of this royal vessel...

Fibromyalgia is just a disruptive passenger

that boards from time to time to teach me how strong I truly am...

inspirational
29

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Your ability to adapt, create, and support others is truly inspiring. Thank you for sharing your journey. 💖

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Where the heck do these illnesses come from, they sound made up, but I too have this nuisance thing. New ones pop up every day. Oh boy, still I am glad it is not one of the big ones like the C word.

  • Absolutely loved these lines: For I am the captain of this royal vessel... Fibromyalgia is just a disruptive passenger that boards from time to time to teach me how strong I truly am... I love how you are able to write a beautiful inspirational poem about something that's pulling you down. You go girl!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.