Poets logo

Dear Diary

A monologue with poetic elements.

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
23

Dear Diary,

I never realized that gaining 30lbs could make me feel so invisible.

In the past, I was chased down by adoration.

Men opened doors for me; women stopped to admire my cheerio-sized wrists and deflated cheeks.

And of course, when the clock struck twelve on New Year's Eve, I always received a good night kiss from my boo of the moment.

Yeah, when I was a size nine; I did have it going on.

But, these days, I'm hanging with my new Man: Casper.

Yeah, you heard me right! Casper, as in Casper the friendly ghost.

He mysteriously showed up around the time of my size expansion.

He's a pretty chill dude... He keeps his mouth shut and never harasses me about the size of my clothes.

Hmmph! More than a few brothers could stand to learn a thing or two from Casper... You know what I'm sayin'?

But, enough about me and my singlehood...

I guess, I better go take this whining-butt baby to the doctor.

Dear Diary, I just have one burning question before I go. I'd like to know--when will the size of my heart successfully trump the size of my dress?PEACE!!!!

performance poetry
23

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Re-read!!💖 Giving up sugar has helped me. Now, this itching is a mystery. Stress eating is a real thing. I think I am on an eating bing. I will be glad when I am free of this itching jamboree. Still loving your poem dear diary!!!💖💖💕

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I'm asking that question right now, um...thanks Vocal, my behind has improved a bit, late night binging and scrunching my eyes to write and compose. So yep. I completely agree and ask the same. Been 2 years, I see much has improved. He he he he 💖💚💙💛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.